Nutty Zucchini Chocolate Cake

When the cupboards are bare and cake is needed…

My fridge held a lot of zucchini – but not many eggs. And I stood in need of a cake! Having tried zucchini bread and zucchini in coconut bread, I googled ‘zucchini chocolate cake’ to see what I could find.

I found this No Egg Chocolate Zucchini Cake, but because I love a wholesome cake, and I did have ONE egg (and every other zucchini recipe used 3 eggs) I made a few modifications… and came up with this scrummy Nutty Zucchini Chocolate Cake. It was a hit with a bundle of boys – especially my KitKat who has a very strong aversion to zucchini – and a great love of chocolate!

Nutty Zucchini Chocolate Cake

Ingredients;

  • 2 cups zucchini – finely grated
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 3-4 tbsp milk
    (guestimate – add more if dry.)
  • 2 cups SR Flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup cocoa
  • sprinkling of shredded coconut
  • sprinkling of slivered almonds
  • 1 tbsp LSA (Ground linseed, sunflower & Almond – optional)

Method:

1. Mix zucchini, oil, egg, milk & vanilla.
2. Mix dry ingredients in a separate bowl.
3. Add moist ingredients and combine. Mixture will be paste-thick!
3. Spread into 2 x round greased & lined round tins.
4. Bake at 180 degrees for 25 – 30 minutes.
5. When cool, spread one cake with jam and frosting. Sandwich cakes together and top with frosting.
6. Serve with whipped cream.

Frosting:

  • 3tbsp vanilla yoghurt
  • 1 1/2 cups icing sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 3 – 4 tbsp milk

Moist, dense and decadent delicious! Definitely one to bake again. So good, that in fact, I just did! 🙂


2 comments


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!