Creative Cooking

Serve hot, cold, or toasted.

 

I am a ‘creative’ cook – which is not to say I am a good cook – just that I tend to diversify from the original recipe with tweaks and changes along the way. This is mostly because I don’t have all the ingredients, or the means of getting them in a hurry. But also because I don’t really have the patience to measure things exactly – so a dash and splash works well with most recipes. (You can perhaps see why I’m not a good cook…)

But sometimes I surprise myself with what I produce.

On the weekend I had one of those happy failures that was really quite successful. It was going to be a Zucchini and Walnut Cake, and the photo looked healthy and delicious, though granted, it does sound a little ordinary. Alas, I only had half the required zucchini weight – but I had plenty of carrots! And I had no walnuts – but I had pecans! (And almonds too, if it came to that, which it didn’t.) A few more fiddles with the excess of oil and sugar and… Success!

A dense, moist and de-licious loaf that the whole family loved.

—–

Zucchini Carrot and Pecan Loaf

Ingredients:
250g pecans (or however many you have!)
250g zucchini
250g carrot
1 cup canola oil (I cheated and went 2/3 canola oil and 1/3 milk.)
1 cup raw sugar
three eggs
2 ½ cups SR Flour sifted
1 ½  teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg

Method:
Preheat oven to 170 degrees Celsius.
Grease 22x12cm loaf tin and line with grease proof paper.
Grate zucchini (and carrots). Put in large bowl with oil, sugar eggs and roughly chopped pecans. Mix well.
Stir in flour, cinnamon and nutmeg.
Spoon into loaf tin and bake for 1hr 10 minutes. (Sprinkle with raw sugar halfway through cooking.)
Leave in tin for 15 mins then cool on wire rack.

—–

Scrummilicious! Serve hot, cold, or toasted. Mmm-mmm….

5 comments

  1. Kat, that’s the way to go- i do this constantly now- and started cooking like this on the farm with the 6 kids and no grocery shop nearby but my own big vegie patch- I used what i had and broke the rules- I’d even add sultanas and apple to your recipe…

    of course there was always the failures, but as a year 1 boy told me the other day we learn from our mistakes, so it’s good to make them…

    Like

  2. Dee – I thought of that! But by then it was half gone. And you realise I can’t make my next one until I get to town to buy more zucchini – and now pecans too!

    Lorraine – Nice suggestions. I will have to try that sometime. I will definitely be cooking this again – when I’ve been shopping… 🙂

    Like


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!

