Inspirational High

The past month has been super-busy, and whilst there has been much to blog about, there has been no TIME to blog. So here’s a quick catch-up.

I had a busy two weeks with author talks in Maryborough, Bundaberg, Gladstone and Rockhampton, as a part of Book Week, and the Carpet Court Storybook Challenge. This was a blast, because I got to talk about what I love, over and over and over again. With different kids responding in different ways each time it was never boring! The Carpet Court Storybook Challenge involved a short writers workshop to get kids inspired to write about what they love about their local area. The Book Week workshops were full day events, running varied poetry workshops for kids from Prep to Yr 7.

Following on from these wonderful weeks of writerly pursuits, my sister and I organised a Fete & Flower Show, and whilst it may have been the 79th Annual Fete & Flower Show – a rich community tradition – it was a first for us. This meant we were on an enormous learning curve and busybusyBUSY getting things up and running for what was a wonderful, fun, family day – and great success.

In the week just gone, I was at Noosa North Shore Retreat for an Action Adventure Camp with 46 Year 7 students. And what an action-packed adventure that was! Now I just need time to write about it, because I am feeling full-on inspired by the events of the week, which included;

  • Canoeing (No fear. Huzzah!)
  • Mountain Biking (Head-over-handlebars for me. Youchies!)
  • Night Hike (almost-a-jog pace)
  • Giant Swing (emphasis on ‘giant’)
  • Pamper Pole (which I would rename Panic Pole)

The Giant Swing and Pamper Pole need to be seen to be believed. I am so proud of the many kids who made it to the top of both of them – because there was a lot of fear-factor involved, and some tears. And there was no shame in tears! After my head-over-handlebars, bruising buster off a bike with brakes that bite, I had the perfect excuse for not attempting the Pamper/Panic Pole. Not that I needed any excuses. Once I saw the pole – and the photos of the boys conquering their fears on Day 2 – there was no WAY I was putting my life in the hands of a piece of strings and a wobbly pole on Day 3. But I did succumb to the pleading of our gritty girls (they were so brave, and I couldn’t be more proud of them) and decided I would face the Giant Swing. A spur-of-the-moment decision, because I’d surely have chickened out if I planned it in advance.

This is me, being propelled to the top of the 12metre pole by same gritty girls.

I seriously did think I didn’t scream much. But turns out I was wrong. Because I’ve seen numerous videos to contradict that. And apparently body language says much. Overheard on video; “The look on her face is so funny. I shouldn’t be laughing, but I can’t help it.”

I would include a little snippet of video footage for you, because I’m feeling mighty chuffed with how brave I was… (because I was brave!) but alas, I can’t seem to insert a video into my blog. So, no show.

As for the petrifying Pamper/Panic Pole? After climbing the pole with the help of large ‘staples’ the kids then had to scramble onto the top (of the wobbling pole) stand aloft, then leap up and out to hit the orange balloon, before being released to slowly swing down to ground. This is the stuff of nightmares, make no mistake! BUT… the kids loved it. Even those who struggled with fear and anxiety all the way up…

That’s not me at the top. That’s one of our super-brave kids. My son was one of them. But I didn’t see him. (Phew!)

As you can see, a busy couple of weeks. But much to be inspired by!

3 comments

  1. Kat, that all sounds wonderful! So cool that you got to do the swing and ouch about the crash. Sounds like you took some very brave kids. I look forward to hearing a swinging poem soon 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Inspirational High | Australian CYA Authors | Scoop.it


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!

