Speedy Snails!

Yay and hurray, there was speedy Snail mail in my letterbox this week – advance copies of my March release, What Snail Knows. (You can pre-order your copy here.) And, with the perfect prop, there were just a few photos snapped to mark the occasion. 🙂 (Snail has been waiting and waiting for her day of fame and she was keen to make the most of it! No other snails have had a look in.)

Excuse my damp and rumpled dress. It started drizzling at the letterbox, and I had to walk 1km clutching my parcel – so very grateful it was sent Express, because not only did it arrive super-fast, (Yay for speedy snails!) but it also had plastic packaging to protect it!😅

Here are some fave Snail pics, to mark the occasion. You can be pretty sure more will make an appearance, somewhere.

No new poetry today – but What Snail Knows is a verse novel! A companion story to Too Many Friends – this from the perspective of Lucy. The quiet one, who’s always alone… (So beautifully illustrated by Mandy Foot.)

Lucy and Dad move a lot, so it’s hard to make friends.

Lucy’s glad she has Snail, the perfect pet for a lonely girl. If only she had her own shell to hide in every time she started at a new school.

But this place is different. She likes her teacher, Miss Darling. She likes her classmates, especially Tahnee. She even likes Mei-hui’s van park, where she lives with Dad and Snail. This place feels like home. Can she convince her dad to stay?

If you are missing snail poems, you’ll find a selection of mine here

Or perhaps you’d enjoy this prompt, here to write your own snail (or other pet) poem. Perfect for kids, with their delayed start for school!

Talking of snails… the lovely Irene Latham has her own snail story releasing shortly; Snail’s Ark. (Yes! You definitely need that yellow dress, Irene!) Today Irene is hosting the Poetry Friday Round-up at Live Your Poem. How perfect is that?

 


26 comments

  1. Yay!! So much to celebrate!!! Congratulations, Kat! I’m delighted for you and for your lucky readers. Can’t wait to see your newest book come March. (I didn’t know about Irene’s upcoming book, so thanks for sharing that, too!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Molly. I’m nervous anticipation as it starts to slip out into the wide world of advance readers. But then I remember the quiet little loners I wrote it for. This book is for them. And their peers. And that’s really all that matters.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ha! “no new poetry today….lol” That takes the cake. I would say a beautiful ARC of your newest book is a first-rate stand in for new poems. I love seeing that book in your hands. I love knowing you’re working on the next book. And, I love knowing that it was RAINING a bit where you live. All good news. Now, let’s get that book into the US market! Congratulations! I’m tossing confetti in the air for you and all the lovely snails.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I keep meaning to sneak some other snails into a cover shot, too. Including some of the tiniest of bubbas! (They’re even smaller than Snail in Lucy’s hand.) Love sharing snails with you, Irene. xx

      Like

  3. What a happy celebration, and you’re wearing sunny yellow — perfect! Congratulations, Kat. I’m so glad that you have another verse novel for readers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That (very rumpled) sunny yellow dress was just what I was wearing at the time. I thought about changing into something that wasn’t in need of an iron… but then I went with au naturel, because I kind of like to capture the moment for what it is; damp and rumpled and all.🙃

      Like

    • I didn’t realise what I thought to keep snails for a short time, to ensure the books authenticity, that they would be perfect props in promo pics.🤭 Because I couldn’t bear to part with them…

      Like


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!