Poems Between Friends

I’m popping in with a Poetry Swap package all the way from Southern California. I only took part in one Poetry Swap this season. And it was a right choice. Because when I wasn’t writing Poetry Swaps, I was writing picture books. Two rhyming manuscripts that have winged their way to publishers, and I’m feeling chuffed… and hopeful. Submissions – but not yet acceptances. (Not setting myself up for disappointment!) But I’m glad I hadn’t committed to more swaps, or I probably wouldn’t have had that little snippet of (unexpected) time and inspiration to write with such joy.

But by the same token, I was so glad that I *did* have a poetry swap! Because there is nothing quite like crafting a poem for a friend. A friend who gets poetry! It is a true gift that Tabatha gives us year after year, and I cannot convey how much I love it! (AND Tabatha is hosting the Poetry Friday link-up today. How perfect!🙃)

I always have such joy in the creating, that I completely forget that someone is doing the same for me! But look at this joy-burst Denise sent me! I can just SEE the fun she had in the making!

I especially love that cow!

I really loved the way Denise closed her accompanying letter. ‘Blessings to you this Winter day!’ Yep – it’s winter here. Thank you for noticing, Denise. Your package was received with delight!

You can see my poem for Denise on her blog. (It’s a wee-bit prickly.)

Thank-you to all the Poetry Friday peeps who found me on my new Substack space last week. I’ll be there again next Friday. The plan is to post to my Substack on the 1st, 3rd and 5th Friday of the month. The 1st Friday of the month will be deliberately pitched to Poetry Friday. But sometimes other newsletters will too (since the space is where I’ll be talking picture books, poetry and verse novels) – so I’ll link in as it fits. 🙂 I’m still getting to know that space – but I’m not stressing it! Slow and steady is my pace.

Have a great week!


28 comments

  1. Oh, Kat, how fun to read this post. I didn’t realize I was your only poetry swap. How fun that I got to be the one. Here’s to two acceptances on your submissions, and soon. You are great inspiration to others. I love your enthusiasm!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved your poem for Denise and now, this from her, swapping love, Kat. I’m always glad to read your post and discover what new things are happening, like the possibility of new picture books! Hope the weekend will be grand!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love that cow, too. ♥️ Congrats on your new picture book manuscripts! Go, Kat! (I had an opportunity to use “chuffed” today and forgot until too late. Darn! Must remember next time.)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You chose one swap and it was right for you; I sat this summer swap out and it was right for me. Still and all, to see the gifts and poems that crossed continents and oceans just makes my heart so happy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I came here after reading your fabulous cactus poem that really wasn’t “about” cactus at all. I love poems like that. And here is Denise with a nod to all of you! I didn’t swap this year. But I love seeing other exchanges.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What fun to receive such a personal poem from Deb! Also, congrats on your productivity–two submissions! Wow! That is an accomplishment worth celebrating. I signed up to follow you in your new Substack space. 🙂

    Like

  7. Hooray! I love it when a poetry swap is just the perfect thing. And, hooray for submissions. That’s great news! Fingers crossed that you will hear acceptances soon. I can tell you that the spring that’s coming is a warm one. Enjoy some cool air for a bit. The sun is on it’s way!

    Like

  8. Kat, I missed this post but glad to have found it now. I am glad that you had time to send out your submissions. Good luck. Denise’s poem and artwork are a delight during winter days. May your submissions find a home and your words continue to delight friends.

    Like


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!