Horsepower

Kicking off Text As Art

It’s Friday. Time for some poetry love – though I do hope you can love poetry every day of the week!

Today I’m sharing a solage – (and a rush of memories) and two snippets of news.

First the news… I was thrilled to hear that my poem ‘Big Blue Whale‘ is being used in a 7th Grade English second language text book, with Norwegian publisher Gyldendal Undervisning. Can’t wait to see it in its new print home! And exciting to have my first poem published in Norway. I’ll share pics when I see it! Until then, Yay! 

And… I’m also excited to be involved with Bundaberg Creative Regions’ Text As Art project, running throughout August (writing) and September (creating), for an October installation and 2-week display. Watch this space for more information, because I can all-but guarantee that I will be writing…. poetry! #anditwillbeFUN 🙂

Now, the poetry; a solage.

And doesn’t nostalgia bubble with that photo! So many beloved people – in a pic taken well before I knew them. And the house where I grew up in in the background (where my parents still live) and the tree that dripped sparkly green/silver/pink shimmer-berries with a distinctive aroma that I am smelling as I type this post. (Don’t ask me what it’s called because I couldn’t tell you – and the tree is long gone.)

The little ‘hut’ behind that tree was the cream room, where (full) cream cans were stored, stirred twice a day, and collected every 2 or 3 days for delivery to the butter factory. Not refrigerated, but cool (still is!) with strategic windows and thick, lined walls for insulation. (It has since been a chook pen and bird aviary – and now houses gardening tools, etc.)

The above photo features my dad, and aunt and uncles, and three of their Melbourne cousins. I love it! But an even older treasure is the photo below, which features my twinkle-eyed, larrikin Grandan and his siblings, minus his youngest brother. (I so wish he was in this pic, too!)

That sweet little girl in the middle, is the mother of the cousins of the first pic. She also was born in the same house, and bred on the same farm… and came back often to visit during my years growing up, always climbing ‘The Rocks’ on the hill behind our house, to look down on the vista of the farm and neighbourhood. You can spy her in the pic below, making the trek at the age of 95. This much-loved lady turned 100 earlier this month.

FYI: There are no photos of my siblings and I lined up like cylinders in a car engine, astride a horse. Fortunately, necessity didn’t involve ‘horse’power for our trip to school, because whilst I was (until the age of 18 ) frequently required to muster, or mind cattle on the road, this grazier’s wife who’s scared of cows is also scared of … horses! (Particularly when my brother was involved.)

Poetry Friday this week is hosted by Katie at The Logonauts. Thanks, Katie. Meanwhile, I’m still smiling at all the macaroni cheese poems that surfaced last week – annatto and all! Who knows what treasures you’ll discover on the Poetry Friday rounds this week.

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave


20 comments

  1. I love the nostalgia of this, Kat, reminds me of my wonderful times on a grandparents’ farm, cream into butter, too! I do love horses, but don’t have a pic of me & cousins on my pony, sad to say. That old ‘farm hack’ gave much to his people, didn’t he?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Absolutely WONDERFUL! In my travels this summer I got to dig through a treasure box of old family letters. I ended up transcribing one in an artful display set to music for my family. I love old family photos as prompts! Way to go on that…..AND new places for your poems to live. Congrats to you! Visiting you on Friday is a sure visit of joy. Thanks for that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great bit of nostalgia rolled into an image poem Kat. This line stands out to me reminding me of the lusciousness of summer: “and the tree that dripped sparkly green/silver/pink shimmer-berries with a distinctive aroma that I am smelling.” Would you like to offer the image poem for my Sunkissed Summer Gallery or create a new poem from that line I do so love? My invitation is up at my post.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have loved this country visit with your Family. And your confessions about horses and cows.
    Appreciations for treating us to this family image & rhyme poem & new-to-me term.
    Finally big applause on your Big Blue Whale splash upcoming in Norway & the art + text project, we
    can look forward to knowing more about by & by. Brava!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I just love this nostalgic post! Memories of people and places that thread through generations are invaluable and precious. (Earlier this month we had a family reunion, complete with a book put together by my cousin, full of pictures of old places and now old people once young–a lot like the photos above.) Oh, and Congratulations for the poem in a Norwegian reader. Very cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh how I love old family photos! My father is the family historian and I am always peppering him with who/what/where/when/why questions about family photos. Thank you for the glimpse into your family album and congrats on your soon-to-be-published poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A solage! I can’t wait to try that myself and with 2nd graders–puts rhyme within reach. Kat, I am so fascinated by your photos and stories and I love it that you know so well where you come from, and your 100yo great-aunt returning. This is all a great treasure that I would love to see turned into a poetry picture book. More please!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks for inviting us for a wander down your memory’s lane! LOVE the photos!! (I was waiting for the one with YOU on a horse, but…I guess not, eh?)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Loving all the comments. Thank-you. They are precious photos. Not sure about a picture book, Heidi – but you’ve planted the seed, so we’ll see what grows of it. There are pics of me on a horse, Mary Lee – not many, but some – but they’re all at my parents’.

    Like


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!