The Poem that Didn’t Make the Cut

This week around the interwebs, poets are posting their poems that didn’t make it into the One Minute Till Bedtime collection, released by Little, Brown in the US on the 1st of November.

The poem I subbed (with American spelling and all!) was Mommy’s Shadow. But to be completely honest with you, it was actually written as Daddy’s Shadow – and like My Dad (which did make it into the anthology) was inspired by my young sons and their interactions with their Dad, who, of course, they doted on! I’d tucked both poems away for many years… But because I was already submitting a Dad-poem for consideration, I tweaked the shadow, to complete the set. Which left me in a bit of a pickle for this non-minute poem… because I still prefer Daddy’s Shadow. So – that’s what I’m posting here.

Daddy’s ShadowDaddy's Shadows.jpg

My Daddy has a shadow
and it follows him about.
It’s the perfect little helper,
there isn’t any doubt.
If Daddy’s in the garden,
then his shadow potters through.
While Daddy’s washing up the car,
his shadow splashes too!
When Daddy’s feeling lazy
and just wants to have a rest …
He’s lucky I’m his shadow
‘cause I’m always full of zest!

© Kathryn Apel.
All rights reserved.

You can read  about Kenn’s process to selecting and arranging the poems – with links to the 15 Australian poets included – on my previous blog post; Collating an Anthology – with Kenn Nesbitt. You can read more non-poems at jackiehoskingblog.wordpress.com, and on the Poetry Friday link-up, collated by Bridget at Wee Words for Wee Ones.

29 comments

  1. Thank you for sharing this sweet poem and congratulations on the inclusion of your other poem in the anthology (which I still haven’t gotten my hands on, but hope to, soon!)! Happy Poetry Friday!

    Like

    • Linda, I am constantly surprised by stuff I have written – and completely forgotten. Yet there is a shadow of remembrance there… (This one is more than a shadow. It evokes vivid (sweetest) memories.)

      Like


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!

