Progressive Poem – Day Two

Not only is the Progressive Poem Irene Latham‘s idea, but I am following with her sentiment for her personal month-long poetry project, and bringing ‘happy’ into this poem.

  1. As a group, we agreed to write a poem for children.
  2. Matt’s Day One post challenged us to use found lines.
  3. I personally wanted to bring in some rhyme play – but not tie others to a pattern.

Matt’s first line brought back childhood days of Christmas holidays, when it seemed like we were gazing into infinity – ’cause in Australia, that’s our summer 6-week break.

Endless summer; I can see for miles

I was determined not to choose ‘smiles’ as my rhyme, as that would be so predictable.

Since Matt’s line uses a Beach Boys album title, I went there first… and found lots of surfing scenarios… and ‘Fun, Fun, Fun.’ Nope. Too easy! And it doesn’t rhyme with miles.

I then thought to give a shout out to an iconic Aussie singer, and bring some Johnny Farnham to the party; ‘well I can’t sleep, but I can dream’‘set the wheels in motion’‘I want to sail across the ocean’… If you discount the lack of rhyme, they had possibilities (especially that ocean!) – yet I just kept coming back to FUN!

So I started searching for songs with ‘iles’ rhymes, hoping to cobble something together. And had to eat my words. 🙃

Endless summer; I can see for miles …
Fun, fun, fun – and the whole world smiles

Found Lines:

  • L1 The Who, ‘I Can See for Miles / The Beach Boys, ‘Endless Summer’
  • L2 The Beach Boys, ‘Fun, Fun, Fun’ / Dean Martin, ‘When You’re Smiling’

Thanks for the wide open spaces, Matt. I’m smiling, as I tag … Kimberly!

2019-kidlitosphere-progressive-poem-copy

The Kidlitosphere Progressive Poem – April 2019

2 Kat @ Kathryn Apel
4 Jone @ DeoWriter
5 Linda @ TeacherDance
6 Tara @ Going to Walden
8 Mary Lee @ A Year of Reading
9 Rebecca @ Rebecca Herzog
10 Janet F. @ Live Your Poem
13 Doraine @ Dori Reads
17 Amy @ The Poem Farm
18 Linda @ A Word Edgewise
20 Buffy @ Buffy’s Blog
21 Michelle @ Michelle Kogan
22 Catherine @ Reading to the Core
25 Jan @ Bookseestudio
26 Linda @ Write Time
27 Sheila @ Sheila Renfro
29 Irene @ Live Your Poem
30 Donna @ Mainely Write

32 comments

    • I just rescued you from my spam folder, Christie! Sorry about that!! Loving what the follow-up days produced – more great found lines, and another rhyme from Jone! (Yay!) What a lively poem this is turning out to be. (I found the found aspect less stressful than when I had a clean slate – if that helps?)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Nice way to pick up the ball and keep it rolling, Kat! I wanted to give you & the others plenty of room to play, and it looks like we’re off and running. When you mentioned you were looking for some “fun” from Down Under, I immediately thought of Dave Dobbyn’s “Slice of Heaven” (but of course, he’s a Kiwi, so he doesn’t count!). I’m eager to see what Kimberly does!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha. Kiwi/Aussie is like Canadian/American. But we do love our Downunder neighbours! (And that song brings back some memories! Just had to go and google a refresher.) Yes – fun to see where Kimberly takes us, next!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Day 2: Paint Chip Tanka #NaPoWriMo #playwithpoetryNPM – Wondering and Wandering

  3. I think those Beach Boys would be thrilled that they are still helping to make us all ‘happy’ with their lyrics. Summer brings out the smiles from everyone, Kat. I’m glad you kept it! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kat, you ended up with a terrific 2nd line bringing smiles in in a welcoming way. Good vibes abound. Just to say I met my future husband at a Beach Boys concert in college. So this hits home a little. Eager to see what’s next.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Fun that you reminded us that your summer happens in December! Doesn’t matter when or where it lands, it is fun, fun, fun! I wonder when we lose the sense that summer is like gazing into infinity.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your last line sounds like a poem Kat… I like this happy focus, who knows where it will go. Perhaps we can fit in some female influenced song lines along the path.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: NaWriPoMo 19: Playing with Poetry 3/30 | Jone Rush MacCulloch

  8. Pingback: NaWriPoMo19: Playing with Poetry: Self-Portrait | Jone Rush MacCulloch

  9. Pingback: NaWriPoMo19: Playing with Poetry | Jone Rush MacCulloch

  10. Pingback: Is There Anybody There? « Kathryn Apel


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!