Unseasonable Winter Warmers

Bathtime during a camping trip to Cape York, June 2013.

Pause for paws – SavvyCat gets playful, June 2017.

—–

I am always getting caught out with Carol Varsalona’s Seasonal Poetry Collections – because I’m not ‘living’ in the season at the time poems are being collated. Last week I went trawling past photos taken during Winter in Australia (June/July/August). Here are a couple of poetry bites I’m happy with, for the current collection. You’ll note there is no snow in my winter poems. 🙂 (There is no snow, in my winter! 😦 )

This post is a part of the Poetry Friday link-up.
Read more about Poetry Friday.
Follow the link-up with another Aussie author and poet, SallyMurphy.com.au.
Thanks, Sally!

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave


31 comments

  1. We don’t have any snow here either, but it sure is cold. Enjoyed the photos you shared! I’ll bet the first one did make quite a splash. Thanks for sharing your (and your kitty’s) perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wonder if it’s colder in places without the snow – because we aren’t set up for it. We don’t have heating. And because winter is for the shortest time, we don’t have proper winter gear. So when it IS cold, you really feel it!! 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m so Northern-Hemisphere-centric…it still bends my mind to think June, July, August = winter AND winter=warm!! I guess the bottom line is, wherever we live, we adapt, eh?

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s funny, because in Australia we’re almost used to adapting to the American way of doing/seeing things. Though I did get caught out with those moon pics last week – was momentarily surprised that the pics on the web were all upside down…

      Like

  3. Like Joyce Ray said above, in NH we had some snow this week. I’m about 45 minutes south of Joyce, so we got rain on top of the snow. It all froze, so we’ve been contending with ice. I think I would welcome a winter without snow! Your cat looks intimidating in that photo! I wonder what he/she is plotting?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard about ice – but not experienced it. As to that cat; there was definitely plotting involved. Good spotting! And claws. He was seriously into play mode, from tree, to tank, to timber supports…

      Like

    • Thanks for visiting, Sara. Glad you liked. I couldn’t comment on your post, as I’m not on FB, but it seems I’m not the only one who has a scarcity of snails – and a fascination for them. I hadn’t realised they were active at night – which may explain their ‘scarcity’. (After rain I’m often surprised to see them, criss-crossing the roads – which is hardly a safe place to be!!) Your book looks gorgeous. Congratulations!

      Like

  4. Kat, these photos are so special. Thank you for sharing winter in Australia with no snow. I am going to backtrack and add your work to my Winter Wonderland Gallery. Stay tuned for the insertion and posting on social media.

    Like


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!