My Shadow – and A Rock

I recently borrowed ‘My Shadow’ from the library – a picture book version of Robert Louis Stevenson’s poem that I adored as a child. (Anyone else?) For some reason, it was very hard to find the illustrator’s name (?) but I finally did – low on the back cover. Robert Louis Stevenson (who was credited on front cover and title page, as well as back cover) did such a splendid job on the poem, so many years ago – but Sara Sanchez did a fabulous job illustrating it!

I especially love what Sara Sanchez did with the so-tricky last page. 🙂

This blog is a quick shoutout to Sara Sanchez! And of course, the master, Robert Louis Stevenson.

My Shadow

I have a little shadow that goes in and out with me,
And what can be the use of him is more than I can see.
He is very, very like me from the heels up to the head;
And I see him jump before me, when I jump into my bed.
The funniest thing about him is the way he likes to grow—
Not at all like proper children, which is always very slow;
Read more at PoetryFoundation

.

Day 251

Watch Day 251 of 365 Days of Reading (video version).

.

Laura is hosting Poetry Friday this week. And what a thrill I had recently when I was walking through my small-town library and discovered this!

What a gorgeous book! Who knew the humble rock could be so many things? Personally, I love the food grinder. 🙂 I’m so thrilled that someone on the other side of the world threw a rock … and it landed in my library. Just perfect.

Needless to say, I love my local libraries! (Yes – I love them so much, I have multiple. :P) Happy Poetry Friday!

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

22 comments

  1. What a visual feast you’ve shared! “My Shadow” is always a delight, and Sara Sanchez’s illustrations are inspired. I loved seeing them all in the video–great end papers and such a clever final page! I haven’t read “A Rock Can Be…” but love Laura’s “A Leaf Can Be…” Thanks for the sneak peek and the reminder to check that one out as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww. You’re so right. The illustrations are darling. I did not know that poem before. For some reason I have some really major poetry “holes” in my background. I think I’m going to spend some time this week with Robert Louis Stevenson! A delight, as always to visit here.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hope I can find this “shadow” book, Kat. I’ve taught the poem in part to my grand-girls, & it is special to all of us. You’re lucky to find Laura’s wonderful book. Now I hope you’ll find the others, too! Thanks for sharing this beautifully illustrated book! FYI-It is at my nearby library, so I’ll check it out tomorrow!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I remember reading Stevenson in a beautifully illustrated collection when I was young, but I don’t remember this particular poem–what fun! And I can’t believe your local library has a copy of ROCK CAN BE… That is just…astounding. I am so happy about that. Thank you for sharing it here:>)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. These are treats. I’ve never seen either, although I’ve read that poem by Stevenson before. I love how she illustrated the last page. I love that Laura is hosting today, and you’ve managed to highlight a book of hers. You are a steady, shining light in Poetry Friday.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, I haven’t read that poem in forever – what a treat! And you are so right about those masterful illustrations. So very clever. (& happy that ROCK rolled all the way to you from this side of the world.)
    My shadow and I will enjoy thinking on this post all day…. :0)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yes, Sara Sanchez did an exceptional job imagining that final line! And…WOW! So cool that LPS was found in your local library! (I have multiple favorites, too!!)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Like so many English-language poets, A Child’s Garden of Verses was my first book of poetry. I was wrapt! I don’t know this picture book, but I’d love to see more of the poems from that collection made into stand alone books.

    Like


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!

