Hairy Huntsman Spider – Repost

This week I’m cheating and linking back to one of my earlier bush poetry posts. I don’t feel like I’m cheating readers though, because Hairy Huntsman Spider is one of my better bush poems – and overseas readers will get a glimpse of an iconic Australian creature. And there are pictures. Big, scary pics… (Well – there was last time I looked – but it’s not a page I’m ever keen to revisit because #worstfear so I’m just going to assume they’re still there.)

But first… Don’t forget to visit Diane at Random Noodling for the full Poetry Friday round-up – where you are more likely to discover curiosities, than creepy-crawlies.

And without further ado, I’ll link you across to Hairy Huntsman Spider!

Click the postcard to read the full poem. (Beware. Bigger, scarier spider pictures in the linked post. This one’s a baby.)

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

24 comments

  1. I have friends on their way to your wonderful country tonight! Although I love the scary scene, the way it could be a wonderful poem to read aloud at night, outside, I don’t think I’ll share it with them, at least until they’re back, Kat! I had an experience as a child with a snake in a shed, that’s enough for me!

    Like

    • Well – you could reassure them that they’re not dangerous, Linda… just creepy! And there are some people who LOVE them. #notme Sheds can be spooky places, that’s for sure. Especially with snakes around!

      Like

  2. OMG. I feel I’ve been to a horror movie. I can never get the image of that spider grabbing that broom out of my head again. Ugh. It’s nice to know they eat venomous spiders. Do they really eat birds? Do they bite humans? Ahhh! Don’t tell me. I need a cup of tea and a muffin after this post!

    Like

    • Oh – perfect reaction! Love it. 🙂 No, they aren’t really bird-eating spiders. But the really big ones REMIND me of them. And I *have* seen a huntsman spider wrapped around an attacking bird’s head – which made me scream a lot – even with a class of students. Yes they bite – apparently only when provoked. Many love them. I get judders just thinking of all the stories I could tell about HHS… (I disable images to view ‘that post’.)

      Liked by 1 person

      • The depth of horror… We have wolf spiders. They aren’t venomous, but they are always lurking. They bite hard if you accidentally stick your arm through their web. Which I’ve done. Ugh!!

        Like

      • Spider webs… Argh! I’ve had a student bitten by a huntsman. It ran up her leg (!) during the national anthem and she didn’t even move (!?!) because #respect… But the kid behind saw and tried to squash it with his shoe – so it bit the girl’s leg. And she still didn’t move… But the mass movement of kids arcing away from the spider/girl finally alerted us all. #stillcantgetoverthatgirl #beautifulinsideandoutANDbrave

        Like

  3. I’m on limited internet this week/end, and with InLinkz not working for me (no links to follow) I’m finding it real hard to get around the PoetryFriday posts. (And those blog captchas just keep consuming my megs… 😦 ) I’ll try and play catch-up later in the week, if I don’t get to visit this weekend. #sorry

    Like

  4. I actually kind of like some spiders, but that one is very, very large! And I do not think I would like to be locked in a shed with it!

    Like

  5. I came here from Buffy’s spider poem on Keri’s page. It was TAME compared to this…but both of you got a good poem out of a spider! (and readers got and “awww…” and a **shudder**)

    Like

  6. Kat, I love this poem and I am one of those readers who does not mind a repost. I never saw the first viewing. Today, a baby spider crawled on my hand but it looked nothing like your gruesome beast.

    Like


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!

