I Don’t Eat My Friends!

friends

My next verse novel is going to the printers on Monday (Yay!) so I thought I’d share a poem from that in celebration of Poetry Friday and all things wonderful… like friends!

I Don’t Eat My Friends!

The kids
in my class
are like a jumbo pack of 
assorted party lollies –
they’re all different,
but I like them 
                all.

(I don’t eat my friends!)

Some kids
talk a lot;
others
tell funny jokes.
Some kids 
ask questions
and listen lots;
others
ask questions 
and don’t listen at all.
Some kids are bossy
(sometimes too bossy!);
others like
to be told
       what to do –
want you to do it 
       for them.
Some kids are quiet
and always there;
others are quiet 
and always alone.

All my classmates are different, 

but that’s the best thing
about
      friends …
                and lollies.


© Kathryn Apel

I’m so thankful for the many beautiful friends who sweeten my life, including the wonderful Poetry Friday peeps, who feed my love of words in verse. Thanks to Karen-consumer-of-coffee for hosting us this week and collecting the links at karenedmisten.blogspot.com.au.

‘Too Many Friends’ will be published by UQP in May 2017, and I canNOT wait to share it!

25 comments

  1. Congratulations, Kathryn! I read your poem right after reading “Separation” by Kevin Powers (shared today by Tabatha Yeatts). Both spoke to me of the great need for compassion.

    Like

  2. Hooooooooooooooooooray! Many congratulations to you. I love this poem….I need my middle schoolers to read this. I am the green lollie that asks questions and questions and questions. Have a great week.

    Like


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!

