#MoP16 Poetry Friday Update

Poetry Friday is here again. Well – it is in American-time, anyway. But I’m running late in Australia. Thank-you to Keri at Keri Recommends
 for collating the round-up this week. Click across to Keri’s blog to read the assortment of poetry posts and be inspired.

Today I’m sharing a snippet from a verse novel that I’ve finally (halfway through Month of Poetry) started working on… It had some attention (and some loving) during #MoP14 and into the year – then sat untouched in my drafts folder throughout 2015. I opened it up mid-week, and laboured over one poem … but success came yesterday, when I jumped a big segment that persists in tangling me up, to land in the later stages of the MS. 

This is one of yesterday’s poems. It’s very raw… (Yes, I’m feeling vulnerable!) But I’m liking where it’s heading – and was pretty happy because it also meant I knew where I was jumping in (no pun intended) today. I’m hoping I can get some momentum going and make progress on this thing!

.

LENA: Power Cut

It’s the first thing I see,
towering over the treetops,
when we arrive at
the campsite.

They call it the
Power Pole –
because you’re supposedly on
some power trip
when you’ve conquered
your fears and completed
the challenge –
and because of course
it looks like
a power pole …

My mind goes into
overdrive
trying not to imagine
exactly how
we conquer the Power Pole.

It surely can’t
be as bad
as I’m thinking …

‘They save that for the last day,’
Dalton says, catching my gaze.
‘You climb up
then stand on the very top
and jump …’

I squeak and shudder,
sure that my body
is going to erupt
internally
from fright.

‘You can’t get hurt,’
Dalton is quick to reassure.
‘You wear a safety harness
attached to ropes,
so you won’t fall.
You jump –
then swing in mid-air
until they let you slowly
down
to ground.’

My heart feels like it’s
racing right out of
my chest
as I struggle for breath.

The thought of climbing that pole,
standing on the top,
……….leaping
………………….out
into
……………………………………………nothing
……………………………………...
……………………………….
………………………..

………………..d
……………………a
…………….n
………………g
………………….l
                   ..i
…………………n
……………g …

 

‘It’s really cool,’ Dalton says.

He has no idea!

 

The ending is flat. But I’m working on it. For now, enough procrastinating and second guessing. (I started this post yesterday morning… to give you some idea…) I should just post this thing!

21 comments

  1. The title immediately has me intrigued. And considering all her doubt, I want to know more. I imagine you’re happy to get started again, and have leapt right in! Hope you’ll share more sometime!

    Like

  2. Hi Kat! Thanks for being brave and sharing your poem! I, too, have an unfinished verse novel . . . maybe I can follow your lead and dig it out. I especially like how you change up the lines and have dangling as a shape. Could the end of the poem simply be left “dangling”? It might convey her feeling of being suspended by fear. Thanks also for your comments on creativity. I love the line “let go of the guilts.” It sounds like a novel (or self-help book!). I’m glad I have company in the “writing in spurts” camp!

    Like

    • Oooh. That’s lovely, Keri. Yes, do follow my lead. 🙂 As to dangling… I had thought about that. And am still thinking about it. I’ve been busy, so haven’t got back to it in great length – but think the next poem will dictate what I do with this.

      Like

  3. Love that concrete “dangling” section. And I’m with your heroine “He has no idea!”

    And of course this whets my appetite to understand what happened to her in the past that has her so terrified–or maybe it is what it would be with me, a strong sense of self-preservation.

    Like

  4. Pingback: #MoP16 Poetry Friday Update | Read Write Draw |...


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!

