Looking for words…

The end of the year is always busy, but this year caught me by surprise. Which is why I dropped off the radar for a while. I’ve missed the Poetry Friday crew, so I thought I’d slip in late with these unexpected little poems.

I’ve been fiddling on Storybird, trying to loosen the words so that I can write the poem I need to write, for my Grandma, who quietly slipped away yesterday, aged 97. She lived a long life, but she lived it gently, quietly, often in the background, and whilst we always knew her love, I’m finding it hard to find the words that capture it in truth. And I’m conscious of the fact that the Grandma we ‘kids’ knew, is not the lady that she was for the most part of her life. (I was astounded when I asked her recently if she ever rode a horse… and she replied with certainty, ‘My word!’ (She must have been sadly disappointed with me, scared of cows and horses, and no help to my hubby on his property!) But how did I never know that!?)

I’ve not given up on the poem I want to write – but meantime, here are some Storybirds that I’m hoping will enable the words…

Pearls

Her lips weren’t prim – but she was always stylish. I would wish that ‘gentle’ was one of the word tags.

I think pikelets were Grandma’s love language. They were the best I’ve tasted – and I had them lots! I’ve tried many times over the years to write a pikelet poem, but words still fail me.

Pikelets

Our extended family was quite large… and very close.

And one more, for my young niece, because I discovered this horse while flicking through images…

Pony

Let’s pretend…

Buffy Silverman has the Poetry Friday round-up today; http://buffysilverman.com/blog.

6 comments

  1. All three of these are sweet and heartfelt, Kat, and bring a smile to my face. I’m sorry for your loss– your grandma sounds like a special lady. No one I knew ever made pikelets from scratch! (Though I’ve made some awesome bunny pancakes for Easter.) If you ever manage a pikelet poem, I’d love to hear.

    Like

    • I appreciate your comment, Michelle. I think I might have that pikelet poem. I’d thought it would rhyme… but Grandma was quiet & gentle – and free verse is where I finally found her. (I wish I’d realised that 7 years ago, when I first tried to write the pikelet poem.) I would love to share it with you, when it’s ‘done’.

      Like


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!

