Christmas came early…

At Christmas, we’re reminded of the baby Jesus, wrapped in swaddling cloths and lying in a manger. We celebrate His birth by sharing gifts with loved ones – remembering the gift of Jesus for each of us. At Christmas there is expectation, surprise, and great joy… And there is something special about the baby in the straw…

Babes in the straw... and out of the straw. (Look at that little wombat!)

Hmmm… Baby guinea pigs aren’t QUITE the same (by any stretch of the imagination) but still, we were delighted to wake up to our own Christmas babies… Snap, Crackle & Pop? Cinnamon, Nutmeg & Mixed Spice? Eeny, Meeny, Miny… Moe? Who are these babies???

Gipsy and her three little piggy-wigs.

A motley crew...

This little fella HAS to be Wombles. Wombat no matter which way you look.

Could this be Cino? A little Cappuccino?

Who is this?!? One babe, two looks... KittyRugRat? Kinda long... Maybe Nea - a scoop of Neapolitan???

Who are these guinea pigs????

Your thoughts and suggestions in the NameGame will be appreciated! (Or you can just look and enjoy the sweetly unique little furballs.)

Gold, Frankincense & Myrrh?

19 comments

  1. Bah they are adorable! It made me laugh because my guinea pigs were called Cinnamon and Nutmeg! Now I like to go with the completely random names… favourites for pets are things like Wayne, Roy and Gary… but that’s just me! Slightly prettier for girls (although again, not necessarily guinea pigs) are Mable and Agnes…

    In seriousness Wombles is lovely as a name and whilst my suggestions aren’t helpful I am sure you will all come up with the ideal names based on their personalities!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Hi Kat,

    Congratulations on your 3 new additions.

    The one you call Wombles I would call Checkers (s/he has some light, square patches of fur on his/her back) or if it is a boy, Justin. Why Justin? Well, he looks a little bit like a beaver….Justin Beaver? (I’ll let you ponder that one for a little bit.)

    The other 2 I don’t have names for yet but give me some time and I’m sure I’ll come up with something.

    Madeline

    Like

  3. O.K., I got it.

    Little checkers/wombat dude I would call Hopscotch.

    Baby bundle #2 I would call Latte or Truffles (I wanted to call him Chocolate but he didn’t really look like a chocolate. Plus I didn’t want you to call him/her celery <— You know what I mean)

    #3 – Our mixed up friend I would call Fusion.

    There!

    Have fun with your furry, little friends.
    Madeline

    Like

  4. Holy adorableness! I love your name ideas for the first two, but for the third one, I instantly thought “Calico.” I’m sure you’ll pick great ones. Let us know what you decide!

    Like

  5. Oh-so-many thoughts running through my head, inspired by you all. Thankyou! Wombles and Cino seem right… (and yes, Wombles does have little golden checkers, Madeline) but it is just that last little hotchpotch… I’ll keep pondering/playing… And I will let you know!

    Like

  6. Sooo cute Kat. I’ve been googling Gypsy names for you. Tas is a gypsy name that means birds nest! πŸ™‚ Chik is a gypsy name that means Earth. The best one so far is Camlo, which means beautiful. Miss L is trying to come up with other names. Tinsel, because it looks like a little piece of Christmas Tinsel. Happy Christmas. xx

    Like

  7. Thanks for all the great (fun) name suggestions. I’ll know who to call next time round. (Or where to look. Right here!)

    We have decided to go with; Wombles, Cino and Cali (or Cal if we find it is a boy) – the Calico guinea pig. Thankyou Julie!

    And thankyou everyone for sharing the fun. There is just something about babies… xx

    Like

    • Thanks Jennifer. As to your question… You mean their position in the blog? That is a fiddle. Always a time-consuming fiddle! With the two little pics at the top, I cheated, and joined them before I even inserted them. Because all else was failing for some reason. All of the pics are centred.

      Like


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!

