NaPiBoWriWee Update Day 6


The light is glowing brightly – and it’s not just the light that I’ve been burning into the night to get my PBs done. No – this is the light at the end of the tunnel as National Picture Book Writing Week (NaPiBoWriWee) draws to a close. It’s been so much fun participating. I’m loving the sense of accomplishment and community – and meeting lots of lovely people on the way! 🙂
.

Day Five: I wrote a story that I had always planned to write. Love the title. Love the idea – but haven’t got it right on the page yet. It was cruising along beautifully when hubby drove us to town yesterday, but when I sat down last night to write beginning and ending… the wheels fell off. At 11:30 I decided it’s disjointed beginning, middle and end was the best I could do for that day. #5 slapped and cobbled together – done.

Day Six: Had vowed to finish this PB by midday – and did! In fact I returned to my computer just before midnight of Day 5 to start scrabbling ideas down – and the ending. Then early start for boys’ instrumental lessons meant I was settled at my computer by 8am… story all-but finished by 8:30. By 11am it was finished tweaked and polished – until I revisit from afar, of course. (This PB dropped into my head after a gorgeous tweet by @KarenCollum yesterday afternoon. With no planning, it simply unrolled.)

—–

Which brings me to another observation I’ve made during the week:

1. The spur-of-the-moment stories sparked by necessity or a twitter-tweet are the ones that are rolling off easily and pleasingly. The ones I wanted to write… have pondered and planned… pinned my hopes on… have been painful! They’re the ones most in need of editing. They are also my deep and feeling stories. Perhaps that’s why they’re taking more work.

—–

Alas, I think tomorrow will be another late night, as I won’t get a chance to sit and write until after tea. Eeeeek! BUT the tunnel light will be shining brightly, so I am sure I’ll find my way.

12 comments

    • And it’s another rhymer rolling out here too for #7. Not so silly this time – one I had planned to do. But the spark will have to come another day. Today it’s just the process.
      (Umm… So much for trying to not write in rhyme. I think… I know… that I have succombed and written (Ooops!) 5 rhymers!! The prose PBs were taking too much thought and my week was too full. Perhaps I’ll try a prose PB over next week…)

      Like

  1. I enjoyed reading that, Kat. I’ve had a similar experience this week. The stories that came from ideas I’ve had for awhile (sometimes based on real life) were harder to write, harder to make into a PB. I sometimes had to leave a lot of the idea behind & simply work from its inspiration…
    I worry about the stories that came easily: are they too simple? are they meaningful? good enough? etc… Guess I’ll see this more clearly next week or beyond.
    BTW, I really like that bulb! Pretty.
    @danaFR

    Like

    • I’m metres (minutes) from the finish as I type this – dithering now that I know the end is in sight. It’s great to say I’ve finished 7 PBs in 7 days – but some of them are really PBs in name only. Token gestures to get me there. I ended up putting my special stories to the side because I didn’t have to time/heart to devote to them, and didn’t want to fall out of love by trying to force them.

      Glad you liked the lightbulb. It is cheering and pretty, heh.

      Like

  2. Can I ever relate to your comment about the ones you’ve been planning for awhile being the most difficult to write and the most in need of editing. Here’s to reaching the end of the tunnel!

    Like

  3. ” The spur-of-the-moment stories sparked by necessity or a twitter-tweet are the ones that are rolling off easily and pleasingly. The ones I wanted to write… have pondered and planned… pinned my hopes on… have been painful! They’re the ones most in need of editing. They are also my deep and feeling stories. Perhaps that’s why they’re taking more work.”

    I am wrestling with the same issue! The less I care about a story the easier it is to write. This is an interesting discovery because I tend to plot and plan in my head for quite a while (several years in the case of my YA novel) before I start writing anything down. My experiences this week are making me wonder if I am sabatoging my efforts by over-thinking everything.

    Like

    • Interesting concept!

      Most of my ‘easy’ stories this week have also been pretty silly. Whilst I think there is a place for inane fun books, they can’t take the place of heart stories. I think (hope!) the head/heart stories will be beautiful with time and space to ponder and perfect. I just think they need more freedom to take their shape. Hope that’s the case!

      Thanks for visiting! Enjoy your last day of PiBo. 🙂

      Like

  4. Congratulations on your progress! I think the stories that we want to tell, the ones that are the most important to us, are the most difficult. Probably because we second guess them the most because we want to get them absolutely right.

    I think I am going to have to resign myself to 5 or six stories. I missed a whole day and haven’t been able to fully catch up. Still, that’s a lot for one week! I’m glad I participated too.

    Here’s hoping that light shines brightly on you as you come through the finish!!

    Like

    • You’re right. The stories we want to tell – that capture our hearts – they are so tricky to write.

      Most of what I write is humorous. When one of my PBs developed heart, I didn’t know what to do with it! It stalled for 2yrs before I found it’s resolution. (Finished in a wink once I was enlightened.)

      I also find that reality (‘this is how it happened to us’) gets in the way of a good story. Sometimes it’s just ‘too much information’.

      You have had a huge week. You can be very satisfied with your five stories! That’s five more than you had last week. 🙂

      Like

  5. Kat, great blog post and recap of your PiBo progress. Yay! One more day… here we go! The countdown is on, baby! I have #3, #2, and #1 more to do. But I don’t give up easy. I’m just learning how to get it OUT of my head and ONTO the paper without being so critical of it being just so.

    First drafts are just exactly that: FIRST. They are meant to be bad writing with potential. First things first 🙂 First the bad, then on to the critical on Saturday.

    Like


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!

