Not a Twit!

One of my New Years Resolutions was to join Twitter. I was resolved – and I did it! Not for FUN, but as a way of making contacts and keeping my finger on the pulse of the publishing industry.

Talk about learning by doing! In the fortnight since I first became a twit (because before I could never have been called a twit) my understanding of the reading and writing game has exploded. And that can only be a good thing.

I have also met some lovely Australian writers and gleaned information that enriches both my writing AND my teaching.

Katrina Germein is one Aussie kids’ writer I’ve met through twitter. It was a delightful surprise to then find that one of the books we’ve chosen as an integral part of our Prep/One/Two water-based unit is in fact Katrina’s first PB, ‘Big Rain Coming’. What is more, while I was reading that PB to my class yesterday, Katrina was in fact launching her site into cyberspace. And when I visited last night I discovered it spilling rich resources to accompany her book – so many that our unit is now overflowing with exciting learning opportunities. Where will we fit them all??? (I just love God’s perfect timing in all that!)

So what have I learnt from Twitter? I think it’s best if I share a few links, and you can read and be inspired yourself.

AND I’ve learnt a new word – which you’ll need to know too if you’re reading Jane Yoder’s tips. Pejorative (No – that’s not a typo) means: belittling, derogatory, disparaging.

I don’t think I’m a twit to tweet about twitter! But I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t FUN!

3 comments

  1. Kat, glad you liked the Jane Yolen post, and thanks for the link! I couldn’t agree more about Twitter. I resisted for a long time, but I’m amazed at how much info you can glean in a very short time (not to mention making friends across the world). So welcome to the world of Twits! 🙂

    Like

  2. Wow. Thanks Kat! It’s been lovely to get to know you on twitter too. I’ve only been tweeting since late last year and have also found it a lot more fun and useful than I would have expected. x o

    Like


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!

