I had to write this

They told me I had to write this

A powerful read for Young Adults+


They told me I had to write this
By Kim Miller
Ford Street Publishing
Reviewed by Kathryn Apel

No one told me I had to write this – except deep down inside myself. Because it’s not often you find a book that grabs your heart, wrings it out – then refreshes it with hope.

And all this through a bunch of colloquial letters.

Kim Miller has a heart for troubled teens and this is clearly evident in They told me I had to write this. He speaks the language (which I didn’t always ‘get’ straight away!) and tells some awful truths – but he gets you inside the head of a wild child – and once you’re in Clem’s head, he soon digs into your heart. I had not expected to find Clem so lovable. Oh, he was very real. And far from perfect. But he was lovable!

The ending was totally unexpected – and so quick! I usually like more warning of an ending – with ‘this’ suddenly I was on the last page and thinking, “No! It’s not going to finish properly.” Yet it did. Real sentiment – no sop or cliché. Just a perfect resolution of all that had been building – and I’d missed all the clues! (It was so simple that I actually feel a bit stupid admitting that I’d missed it!)

They told me I had to write this is an incredible story that will have repercussions wherever it is read. I just hope it’s read widely!

Link to Clem’s Webpage.

2 comments


Comments from readers are purrrrfect!

