Madness – I’m Sane Again

The Madness Poetry Tournament continues over at Ed DeCaria’s blog – but I am sane again. :P I was knocked out of the tournament in Round Four, and seem to have spent the last 36hrs fighting sleep. (Five hours sleep per night isn’t enough for me. Who knew? Who knew sustained suspense could take such a toll?)

You can still follow the madness at Ed’s Think Kid, Think blog – and vote on the remaining two rounds. I’ll be there, voting.

Meanwhile, here is my collection of poems, inspired by the Madness. If you click on the pictures, they will take you direct to the match-up on Ed’s blog. Remembering that each poem had to include a given prompt word… All poetry on this page is Copyright Kathryn Apel, 2012.

Round One:  dotted

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The Musings of Maxim; Edit-err

I’ve spotted my stakes
and dotted my tees,
crossed my eyes
and queued my peas.
I’ve cut and confuddled
confounding clichés
but I’m dashed if I know
how to turn a phrase.

.

Round Two:  fringe

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Medieval Mansions

Medieval maidens made a mansion in their hair,
with turrets wrought on wire; an elaborate affair
adorned with flowing ribbons, charming knights they hoped to snare.
Alas, it was a haven for fringe dwellers not so fair.
Lice and mice and cockroaches – and yes, I do declare,
birds and other vermin, caused fair maidens to despair.

Medieval maidens made a mansion in their hair;
I wonder if they ever had a hare inhabit there…

.

Round Three:  scratched

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Sonnet: The Art of Music

To look its best, the cello lies, composed
within a velvet case – the lid snapped closed.
For if it’s played, the golden glow may wear.
Or worse! Show signs of use beyond repair.

The instrument is like a work of art
plucked from the master craftsman’s wooden heart,
then sanded, buffed and polished ’til it glows
and every fingerprint and blemish shows.

But draw the bow and feel the cello thrum,
feel it rumble heart and soul; a mellow hum
that softens silence, as its echo brings
a warmth and depth that flows from wood and strings.

You haven’t scratched the surface if you keep
your cello, or your talent, buried deep.

.

Round Four:  probe

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Blue Sky Butterfly

Butterfly flutters
in summer breeze,
vivid colour dancing
on whispering wind…

it hovers

then wafts feather-light
upon daisy-dream petals.

Wings cinquième en haut
it stalks the bloom

unfurls proboscis

to probe pollen puffs…
savours the bouquet
sipping sweet nectar
through a straw.

.

The Madness was a bundle of fun. I think Ed’s biggest problem in future years will be knocking back participants. This was the inaugural event, and it has proven popular with poets and schools alike. So if you’re a children’s poet, be watchful in 2013, because spaces will be filling fast!

Thanks for co-ordinating a fantastic event, Ed – and for the many wonderful poets who shared their words and wits. And also the masses who popped over to read and vote. The tournament would not have been a success without each and every one of you!

4 thoughts on “Madness – I’m Sane Again

  1. I LOVED all of your poems (and chatting with you on Twitter!!) Your sonnet is probably my favorite. It has inspired me to try writing some sonnets during my National Poetry Month poem-a-day personal challenge. But as for titles, the Edit-err was brilliant!

    It is indeed SO good to have the pressure off, isn’t it?!?!

    • YES! :D

      It was a delight to read each and every one of your exquisite poems, Mary. You definitely have a talent for brevity. Each one was almost a breathless wonder. So glad to have met you – and thank-you for visiting me on my blog and commenting on my poems.

      I have just come off a poetry blitz. January is my Month of Poetry – taking advantage of school holidays, to start the year with a burst of creativity. That flowed into an unexpected unplanned February Month of Haiku, and just when I was starting to catch my breath again, the March Madness started! I think it might be time to take all the skills I’ve honed in poetry and apply them to some picture books again!

      Catch you tomorrow, on the sidelines of the Madness!

  2. Your poems were all so lovely – I really enjoyed reading them! I too loved the sonnet. :-)

    I look forward to seeing how you take these newly honed skills back to the arena of picture books!

Comments from readers are purrrrfect!

